which own and operate their own distribution systems. In the town of Battleford, electric energy is supplied by the Commission, in bulk, by transmission line from the Commission's plant at North Battleford. In all the municipal corporations on its system (211 in number, including those on the former system of Prairie Power Company Limited), the Commission supplies approximately 20,654 individual consumers directly and 17,481 indirectly. In 1946, 2,387 miles of transmission lines were owned and operated, including those taken over from Prairie Power Company Limited.

During the years 1929 to 1945 the Commission purchased certain generating plants, and constructed and purchased transmission lines and also distributing systems in towns and villages. These were improved, enlarged or supplemented. Particulars of these acquisitions and constructions are given in the 1941 Year Book and subsequent editions.

In 1946 approximately 125 miles of transmission lines were constructed including the following: Webb to Gull Lake, Assiniboia to Willow Bunch, Estevan to Stoughton, Outram to Torquay, Expanse to Ardill, and Watson to Dafoe Airport, the last-mentioned line being part of a project including lines from Watson to Naicam and Watson to Quill Lake, which were under construction at the end of the year. The above-mentioned lines brought the villages of Willows, Readlyn, Verwood, Benson, Ardill and Torquay and the hamlets of Antelope, Expanse and Outram into the Commission's system and effected interconnection with the system of the Dominion Electric Power Limited at Estevan, Gull Lake and Assiniboia.

Short transmission lines from the cities of Regina and Saskatoon were built to serve three radio broadcasting stations. A short tap was also built from the town of Oxbow to serve the summer resort of Beaver Park.

Distribution systems were constructed in the subdivided areas of Highland Park, near Regina, North Annex and Churchill Downs (a veterans settlement), and service supplied with power purchased from the city of Regina. A short tap and distribution system were also constructed to serve the veterans settlement known as "Montgomery Place", near Saskatoon.

Of the 16 generating plants owned and operated by the Commission in 1946, those at Saskatoon and North Battleford were steam plants, and the remainder were equipped with compression-ignition engines. The total installed capacity of the generating plants was 32,713 h.p. There are no hydro-electric plants in the Commission's system, the primary power being: steam-reciprocating engines 530 h.p.; steam turbines 34,333 h.p.; and internal combustion engines 9,930 h.p. The Commission purchases several blocks of power from, and contracts for, the interchange of power with private interests.

Regina and Weyburn, as well as several towns and villages, own and operate municipal plants and distributing systems. There are two private corporations owning and operating electrical generating plants, transmission lines and distributing systems in the Province. Control and regulatory powers regarding franchises for the supply of electric energy and the rates to be charged therefor are conferred upon the Local Government Board by Part III of the Public Utilities Companies Act (R.S.S. 1940, c. 118). The Power Commission is charged with the administration of the Electrical Inspection and Licensing Act (R.S.S. 1940, c. 261), and is given certain control and regulatory powers regarding public electrical utilities under Part III of the Power Commission Act.